Rime Of The Ancient Mariner


Rime Of The Ancient Mariner

Buy now


The Rime of the Ancient Mariner by the English poet Samuel Taylor Coleridge is an epic poem and now also an epic 25 track album/multimedia project from The Tiger Lillies.

Recording commenced in 2008 in Oakland, California with Myles Boisen (who also worked with us on Grammy nominated The Gorey End) and continued for 3 more years. Illustrious musicians were conscripted in to play, shout and stomp on the recordings, all for dry bread and rum. Artist Mark Holthusen foolishly agreed to join the crew and set to work producing images, a video and finally a monstrous multimedia film on 2 screens that will accompany the songs in live performances. The premier of The Rime of the Ancient Mariner will be at La Maison de la Musique, Nanterre, France on 16-18 March 2012.

Released in 2012

beautiful bla bla bla
— The Guardian


  1. Overture       
  2. The Storm    
  3. Cabin Boys   
  4. Sweet Breeze           
  5. Interlude 1 (It Is An Ancient Mariner)    
  6. The Land Of Ice       
  7. The Albatross 1       
  8. The Albatross 2       
  9. Interlude 2 (At Length Did Cross An Albatross)
  10. The Albatross 3       
  11. Hypocrites    
  12. Water Everywhere 
  13. Death Ship 1
  14. Death Ship 2
  15. Palace By The Sea   
  16. Rotten Flash 
  17. Drifting         
  18. Interlude 3 (There Passed A Weary Time)        
  19. Dead Men's Ship     
  20. Bad Taste     
  21. Living Hell    
  22. Interlude 4 (Beyond The Shadow Of The Ship)
  23. In The Waves          
  24. Cape Of Good Hope 
  25. The Ancient Mariner


Martyn Jaques - Lead Vocals, Accordion, Dobro Guitar, Ukulele, Piano                                                              Adrian Stout - Double Bass, Bass Guitar, Theremin, Musical Saw, Sleigh Bells, Backing Vocals                  Adrian Huge - Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals        Myles Boisen - Guitar, Banjo, Tuned Gongs, Sound Design  Kim Boekbinder - Toy Piano                                         Rube Waddell (Freddi Price, Kirk Lomard, Max Baloian, Larry Henderson, Mark Growden, Morgan Guberman) - Stomps and Vocals, Seth Ford-Young - Bowed Bas, Alex Kelly - Cello, Matthias Bossi - Pump Organ, Chris Grady - Trumpet, Philip Greenlief - Tenor Saxaphone, Karen Kihlstedt - Tuned Gongs, Aurora Josephson, Carla Kihlstedt, Laurie Amat - Vocals, Interlude Text - read by Freddi Price

Basic tracks recorded November 4, 2008 at Guerrilla Recording, Oakland, California by Myles Boisen www.mylesboisen.com and May 19-21, 2009 at Tin Pan Alley Studio, London by Steve Kent www.tinpanalleystudio.com

Produced by The Tiger Lillies and Myles Boisen. Mixed and mastered by Myles Boisen. Performance on tour produced by Maison de la Musique de Nanterre, The Tiger Lillies and Quaternaire, www.quaternaire.org

Design by Michal Horevaj and Dirk Walter                                                                                                                              Art Direction and Photography by Mark Holthusen

This album is dedicated to our dear fan JAN ARILD who was a sailor.