Cockatoo Prison


Cockatoo Prison

Buy now


16 Songs of crime and punishment. The Tiger Lillies were commissioned to create a song cycle of crime for the 17th Biennale of Sydney in May 2010. Here we present to you a collection of some of the darkest songs we have ever made, stories of societies most vilified and despised individuals stating there case for the world to judge. A former prison and shipyard, Cockatoo Island retains many remnants of its past. Its prison buildings have been nominated for World Heritage listing, along with other convict sites around Australia.

Crimes against humanity, beast and God, terrible acts that arouse fury and confusion in the public at large. From the mundane to the horrific. Tried and convicted they may be, but what drove them to these acts? Can any of us ever say we have not harbored some violent impulse that we nearly acted upon?

80 minutes, lyric booklet included and colour gate-fold sleeve.

Released in 2010

Donec id justo non metus auctor commodo ut quis enim. Mauris fringilla dolor vel condimentum imperdiet.
— Guardian


  1. Molester Of Minors 
  2. Rapist
  3. Murderers Are King           
  4. Baby Killer   
  5. Junkie
  6. Shit Terrorist           
  7. Paedophile   
  8. Pimp
  9. Necrophiliac 
  10. Fanily Killer  
  11. Cannibal       
  12. Gangster       
  13. Car Thief      
  14. Arsonist        
  15. Behind Baa's
  16. Con Man


Martyn Jaques - Vocals, Accordion, Guitar, Ukulele, Piano and Organ

Adrian Stout - Double Bass, Bass Guitar, Theremin, Musical Saw, Sleigh Bells, Backing Vocals

Adrian Huge - Drums, Percusion, Backing Vocals

Recorded at Mission Hall Studios, Edinburgh, Scotland, mixed and mastered by James Locke.

Additional photography by Thomas Kother

CD artwork by Frédéric Domont